Menelaus

A King of Sparta and husband to Helen; he’s the second man Telemachos visits in his search for Odysseus, and he’s the one who confirms the boy’s father is still alive and on Kalypso’s island. Like his buddy Nestor, he’s hospitable—but his main function is to tell Telemachos lots and lots of stories about his dad.

Menelaus was the king of Sparta, but he’s most famous for getting royally dumped. When his gorgeous wife Helen ran off with Paris, the pretty boy of Troy, Menelaus was beyond angry. He called up his powerful brother Agamemnon and together they drafted the who’s who of Greece to sail to Troy and avenge Menelaus’ honor. Next thing you know, the biggest army of Greeks the world had ever seen was knocking on the gates of Troy, and the Trojan War swiftly kicked into high gear. Ten years and one giant wooden horse later, Troy was in ruins, and Helen was back in her husband’s arms. The lesson here? Never make a Spartan mad.

Basic Information

Name Menelaus
Nickname Agamemnon’s Brother
Sex Male
Current city Elysium

Work & Education

Occupation King of Sparta
Warrior
Education Ares’ Academy of War

Beliefs

Political views Death to all Trojans!

Family & Friends (& Enemies)

Parents Pleisthenes (Dad)
Aerope (Mom)
Siblings Agamemnon
Anaxiba
Children Hermione (with Helen)
Megapenthes (with some slave woman)
Friends Agamemnon (my brother who really came through for me when Helen ran off)
Odysseus (more like work buddies)
Enemies Paris (who took off with my wife)
Every Citizen of Troy (just because)

Relationships

Relationship status Married to Helen (it’s extremely complicated)
Interested in My wife (I just can’t help it. Have you seen what she looks like?)

Favorites

Quotations “No adultery is bloodless”
– Natalia Ginzburg

“When tears come down like falling rain,
You’ll toss around and call my name.
You’ll walk the floor the way I do.
Your cheatin’ heart will tell on you.”
– Hank Williams

“Death is the mother of beauty.”
– Wallace Stevens

“Well I hope that I don’t fall in love with you
‘Cause falling in love just makes me blue,
Well the music plays and you display your heart for me to see,
I had a beer and now I hear you calling out for me
And I hope that I don’t fall in love with you.”
– Tom Waits

“In order for a man to be truly evil, he must be a woman.”
– Craig Bruce

Activities & Interests

Likes Paintball
Activities Ruling Sparta
Putting my wife in her place
Launching awful bloody wars because of my domestic problems
Interests Royal history
Battle tactics
Groups Heroes of the Trojan War
Union of Kings
Victims of Adultery Support Group
Veterans

 

Source

Leave a Reply

